Home > Web 2.0 > Some LinkedIn Peeves

Some LinkedIn Peeves

Here are some of my peeves about LinkedIn from what I have tried in the last few days.

  1. They allow only 160 chars in the invite mesage, so I am forced to invent my own short forms:  for e.g.,LUT-on-OFW for Let’s Talk on One of Week-ends.
  2. No URLs in invite messages, I wonder what resembles like a URL in following text: “Since now I have time,shall we start on a book writing project? I thought you had some topics in your mind.LUT-on-OOW.”

I tried the MS-Outlook export as CSV & import into Outlook, no problem with that! I can rest assured that I have my LinkedIn contacts on my netbook also !!

Categories: Web 2.0 Tags: ,
  1. Appan Ponnappan
    October 30, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Here are a few more peeves:
    1. It does not provide a feature to merge two profiles and their networks:
    For example, I know a person who has two profiles but there is no way for that person to make it the same & delete/disable the old profile. A few weeks back, I was looking for a way in WordPress to make all my blogs appear under only single user ID and I could do that in a nice way, by transferring ownership – Thumbs Up WordPress! But it is already answered in their FAQ [here| http://linkedin.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/linkedin.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=46 ]

    2. No RSS Feeds for the posts in the Groups you are part of:
    There are RSS feeds for your ‘Network updates’ and ‘LinkedIn Answers’ which are disabled by default – which makes perfect sense.
    http://linkedin.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/linkedin.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1277
    But there is only mail subscription for group updates, unfortunately.

    3. No commenting feature to add to existing FAQ question:
    I wish I has this to post my question 2 above.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

